223 E College Ave | Appleton, Wisconsin 54911 | (920) 730-8091
In the early 1900's, Jim's Place was once named Van Roy Saloon. Like many of the Saloons in this time period, the Van Roy Saloon fell victim to the Severson Act (Prohibition) in June of 1921. Many of these saloons had unique interiors, including intricate wood designs. After the act was passed, these fixtures were either stored, or more commonly destroyed. John and Peter Van Roy removed everything except an elaborate back bar in their saloon. It is said to have been top of the line back in its day. Standing still today are the tall arches flanked by large mirrors with large columns. In the woodwork are large carved lion's heads. In the middle of the back bar sits an original antique cash register. At the turn of the 20th Century, the Van Roy's opened the bar, leasing it from Appleton's George Walter Brewing Company. After Prohibition ended, George and Ann Oudenhoven opened Dick's Tavern and installed a new front bar. At this time, the Oudenhoven's also renovated the tile ceiling with neon cove lighting. Not only did the Oudenhoven's renovate some things on the inside, they also made some renovations to the storefront with a more Art Moderne facade in 1948. The interior had been maintained for years since, by Jim Mullins, who operated the tavern as Jim's Place. Today the bar is owned by Jay Plamann, who had been coming to Jim's Place for 20 years, mesmerized by the bars intricate woodwork and fascinating history. Come check out one of the only bars to have survived Prohibition that still holds so much history within its walls!